Cabinet reshuffle LIVE: 4 Cabinet rank ministers, 9 Ministers of State take oath

By Livemint, 2017-09-03 06:43:17

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi undertook the third reshuffle of the Union cabinet on Sunday to fill key vacancies and bring in new faces keeping in mind key state elections and eventually the 2019 General Elections. The swearing-in ceremony was held at 10.30am today.

Piyush Goyal, Nirmala Sitharaman, Dharmendra Pradhan and Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi have been given Cabinet rank, while Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, Shiv Pratap Shukla, Ashwini Kumar Choubey and Virendra Kumar sworn in as Ministers of State. Former Mumbai police chief Satyapal Singh, ex-IAS officer Alphons Kannanthanam, former home secretary R. K. Singh, Anant Kumar Hegde and former diplomat Hardeep Singh Puri also sworn in as MoS.

The much awaited cabinet reshuffle today came in the backdrop of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government drawing flak over the demonetization of high-value currency notes and India’s economic growth slowing to 5.7% in the June quarter, the slowest pace in three years.

Here are the latest updates and developments related to Narendra Modi government’s third cabinet rejig:

Lalu Yadav: “They didn’t even get invites (oath ceremony). One who leaves his people won’t be taken in by others. It’s Nitish Kumar’s fate.” (ANI)

Here are the newly inducted Ministers who took oath as Ministers of State.

New ministers gather for the group photo with Prime Minister Narendra Modi and President Ram Nath Kovind.

K.J. Alphons Kannanthanam takes oath as MoS. He is a former IAS officer.

Anant Kumar Hegde, former Home Secretary R K Singh and former diplomat Hardeep Singh Puri take oath as Ministers of State. (PTI)

Gajendra Singh Shekhawat takes oath as MoS. Shekhawat is the national general secretary of the BJP Kisan Morcha and represents Jodhpur Lok Sabha constituency from Rajasthan.

BJP MPs Shiv Pratap Shukla, Ashwini Kumar Choubey and Virendra Kumar take oath as minister of states. (PTI)

Hardeep Singh Puri takes oath as MoS. He is a former diplomat.

R. K. Singh takes oath as MoS. He represents Arrah Lok Sabha constituency in Bihar and earlier served as home secretary under UPA 2.

Anant Kumar Hegde takes oath as MoS.

Dr Virednra Kumar takes oath as MoS. He represents Tikamgarh Lok Sabha constituency from Madhya Pradesh.

Ashwini Kumar Choubey takes oath as Minister of State (MoS). He represents Buxar Lok Sabha constituency and served as a former health minister in Bihar.

Shiv Pratap Shukla takes oath as MoS. A Rajya Sabha MP, Shukla is from the state of Uttar Pradesh.

Mukhtar Abbas Naqi takes oath. He served as MoS for Parliamentary Affairs and has been given a Cabinet rank.

Nirmala Sitharaman sworn in as Cabinet Minister. She served as MoS (Independent Charge) for the Ministry of Commerce & Industry, as well as a Minister of State for Finance and Corporate Affairs under the Ministry of Finance headed by Arun Jaitley.

Swearing in ceremony begins. The first minister to take oath is Dharmendra Pradhan. Pradhan is currently serving as MoS for Petroleum and Natural Gas and has been promoted as Cabinet rank minister.

Piyush Goyal is the next minister to take oath as Cabinet rank minister. He is currently serving as MoS with Independent Charge for Power, Coal, New and Renewable Energy and Mines.

President Ram Nath Kovind arrives.

New minister’s portfolios to be known at 11.30am, according to NDTV.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi arrives at Rashtrapati Bhavan for the swearing in ceremony.

Union minister Uma Bharti is attending an event in Varanasi, ANI reports.

Union minister Uma Bharati will not attend the swearing in ceremony, NDTV reports. The BJP leader will remain in Lalitpur, it adds.

K.J. Alphons to ANI: Thrilled, I was not expecting this. Great surprise.

Continue reading…


More Articles